A Little More Business for the Post Office

Here are a couple of mail art items ready to go. One of my continuing themes is the use of items cut out from furniture, appliance, or clothing catalogs. I think it dates back to my enjoyment of paper dolls in my childhood. A whole population on the pages of magazines and clothing pattern books out there for free, just waiting to enact any story I gave them. Or, as I did with these figures, I could create my own (in these postcards, I cut the figures from grocery bag paper and then painted them with acrylics.)

And then of course they needed their consumer goods, so advertisements were very useful, too. As they are now!

I may be one of the few people who welcomes junk mail because it is such a great source for my art.

Leave a Reply

