More Fanciful Creatures Join the Parade

Here are a few of the tiles that came out of the most recent two firings.

People ask me what I am thinking when I make these animals, plants, and people. The images don’t often have a resemblance to any real flora or fauna here on the planet Earth – and I don’t try. When I’m working on tiles, I go from one to the next, finishing one before I start another. Each one is unique. I cut out the tile shape from a slab of clay, put some sort of texture on it, and then apply more clay to make the image. Usually I have little or no idea when I start to work what will direction the tile will take. I like working this way, and I don’t put any requirements on the outcome. So it is not surprising that all kinds of creatures emerge.

Leave a Reply

