Fairy Tale World

I have been working on some collage/mixed media pieces and have finished a group of four, each 12 ” x 12″, on a 3/8″ board surface that came already primed. I painted randomly on each one of them and then added some papers I found interesting. At that point, the pieces began to diverge and I worked on one at a time, until all four were finished. This piece is the last one in this series.

I love fairy tales and I always have. I love the drama, the magic atmosphere, the oversupply of  kings, queens, princes, and princesses, the danger, the quests, the tasks, and the stark and entirely believable illogic in so many tales (can someone’s hair grow to be the length of a tower? can a person be half-hedgehog, half-man, and still have friends?) It’s a vision of a world that appeals to me for some reason – there is a lot of mystery mixed right in with the everyday. Still waters often run deep in many tales.

The background I painted for this piece reminded me of an autumn sky, and so I put in some trees. I placed the figure among them, and then I knew she was running down a path. Add the somewhat ominous-looking birds, and you have a fairy-tale setting, I think. Now just think of a story…

"Running Through the Fairy-Tale Forest" 12" x 12" 2013

“Running Through the Fairy-Tale Forest”
12″ x 12″
2013

Leave a Reply

