Just a Minute or Maybe a Little More

Here are four more 6″ x 6″ mixed-media pieces on 3/8″ board, members of the same group I posted some examples of a day or two ago.

Sometimes I think pieces like these have two lives – one is if they can stand up to a quick glance, with the shapes, colors, and forms holding up to make a pleasing, coherent whole.

And then there is their ability to withstand examination, if the viewer finds more to think about and stops to take a good long look.

I always hope to achieve both goals. Doesn’t always happen, but that’s what I try for.

4 thoughts on “Just a Minute or Maybe a Little More

  1. martha

    Two ways of looking. I appreciate that structure and an explicit statement of it. Makes sense.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think it’s doing them in a group that makes the difference. One leads to another and ideas continue to come along. Plus, working so small, I find I pay more attention to the actual papers and paint and derive meaning from them, rather than using them in a more painterly fashion as I would for something bigger. So that makes it easier, too! Thanks for looking and the compliments, I appreciate them.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, because it seems to me that for a piece to have a life beyond a quick one-time glance, it has to have more to it than what’s on the surface (I did not mean to make a pun but I like it when I do…). Anyway, these are very small, but – I still try for that goal.

Leave a Reply

