Nice Clean Dishes

Here’s a break from collage and clay. I knit a lot, and I’ve been doing so for the last 40+ years. I’ve made all kinds of items – sweaters, scarves, mittens, hats, afghans, slippers, toys — and dishcloths.

I make them during the summer. Small, quick, and light. I use a slipped stitch technique that lets me create two-color patterns without carrying yarn along the back. The slipped stitches also cause the fabric created to draw up nicely and make a thicker cloth.

The patterns were all free on the web – lots of different looks are available all over the internet. I just searched around for ones that looked attractive and enjoyable to knit.

Here’s a few pictures of cloths I’ve made. I don’t photo them all. These were all given away a couple of summers ago, I think.

I got rid of all my store-bought cloths and now just use the ones I made. If you have a chance to get hand-knitted or crocheted cloths, maybe at a craft fair or a farmers’ market, grab them. Your dishes will be happier, maybe, and you’ll enjoy using the nice substantial cloth that holds the soapsuds so well.

One thought on “Nice Clean Dishes

Leave a Reply

