Black and White

Some more recent tiles that I made, this time in black and white, are what you see here. The clay is Standard 181 and the tiles are finished with Velvet underglaze Jet Black, fired at Cone 5.

I love the high-contrast look of these tiles, and the white is especially clean, not a creamy color like some other white clays I have used. But, and this is a big but, this clay isn’t really suited to what I am doing with it. It warps and cracks more often and to a greater extent than I have seen with any other clay I have used – I had a larger failure rate with these particular tiles than any other group that I can remember.

That this happened is my fault for asking the clay to do something it’s not really formulated for – when I looked up the clay on a couple of ceramic shops’ sites, it is not on the list recomended for tile-making. Not sure why I bought it in the first place when I have used other white clays so successfully. So I won’t make any more tiles with it. But, and this a good thing, it made really nice-looking little figurines – so I will use it for that.

I will be ordering more clay soon and I think I’ll be trying out some new white clays.

11 thoughts on “Black and White

  1. Elephant

    These look great! I think you should post some more in full – they look like paintings – moody and very nice – prints?
    Elephant

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thanks! Clay is more versatile than people think, maybe because most of the work done in it and seen in art shows, etc. is functional and maybe very similar. There are lots of people doing very interesting and original things with clay, it’s just a matter of searching it out sometimes.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Fantastic! I got my start in a class at the night school at our local high school. Then I just kept experimenting. Best of luck, you have lots of enjoyment ahead of you!

Leave a Reply

