Recycled and Renewed

I often use discarded library books as materials for collage work. I tear out their pages and use them as is or paint them. I turn their words into collage poetry. I use the books themselves as the basis for newly created artist books. And when the interior of the book is all used up, there’s still the cover, isn’t there?

Here’s a project I did recently. It’s a sort of diorama, I guess. The cover is from a volume in the children’s mystery series from the past involving a nurse named Cherry Ames. I used up all the pages, and such nice soft paper they were, too. Now here is the cover. I decided not to change or paint it – I liked the idea that Cherry Ames, Private Duty Nurse, was not forgotten.

Winter Storm diorama book - original cover

Winter Storm diorama book – original cover

The inside is another story. I used paint, papers, yarn, twigs from a tree in my yard, a shell I picked up on a beach years ago, and a little tile person I made this year.

Winter Storm diorama book - upright

Winter Storm diorama book – upright

The finshed object can stand up on a table or shelf and be something to look at every so often, I think.

Winter Storm diorama book - lying flat

Winter Storm diorama book – lying flat

Winter Storm diorama book - detail of tile

Winter Storm diorama book – detail of tile

4 thoughts on “Recycled and Renewed

  1. Mim (Richmond, VA)

    That is quite a good way to use the old book. Funny thing, I actually read a few Cherry Ames books when I was a kid, while I was reading every book in our small public library.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, I read many too, as a child, although I liked Nancy Drew better. The book I used here actually came from our library, discarded a while ago. I picked some up, reread them, and now they are art material. A lot for one book to do.

Leave a Reply

