Shapes and Colors and Lines and Splotches…

Here are some small abstracts, done in acrylics. They’re 6″ x 6″ on 1/8″ masonite. I think if you look at the previous post you might see them in the jumble of work on my table, or maybe not. But they are part of what I have been working on recently.

I’ve been doing a good bit of painting because I can handle the brushes within the limitations of what my hand can do (a two-fisted approach – the left hand seemed to gain confidence from the right hand’s proximity…) – I just don’t like to go through too many days without making some kind of artwork.

Seems to me the thing with abstract painting is to know when to stop.

9 thoughts on “Shapes and Colors and Lines and Splotches…

  1. Elephant

    Sorry about your hand – must be very frustrating for you because normally you are so productive. I like these small paintings. They do look fresh and not over worked. Nice colors too!
    Elephant

  2. Elephant

    Yes, you never know where the path will lead. Usually it takes until later to see that something good has come out of something not so good, but if you can see it early or know it is going to come – that is great!

    I admire your energy!
    Elephant

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I adore these little teeny pieces of masonite. Somehow it seems not so intimidating working on them, when they are just small little things – and I can do a lot of them at a time and that keeps me from fussing with any particular one.

  4. Nancy Bell Scott

    After two days of working in paint on several 6×6 masonites, I am reminded of the importance of knowing when to stop. For years I have painted only with collage in mind–usually on old book pages, to use in collage. Painting by itself–yikes! I forget! It feels a bit like kindergarten. :–} I’m even more impressed than I already was with the freshness of your painterly touch and your intuitive + strong composition sense.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Ii know just what you mean. It is SO EASY to turn your painting into mud. In the past I have retreated back into familiar collage – where this doesn’t happen, and where my wrong choices were easy to fix. I feel I might have a dim idea now of what I want to do when painting and I’m determined to keep trying. A few non-mud results has helped, but I’m there with you in kindergarten, too – I know just what you mean! Thanks for your encouragement.

    Now, how do you like the masonite?

  6. Nancy Bell Scott

    The masonite is terrific, Claudia! You wouldn’t believe how many layers of paint my panels are holding, without warping or getting sad in another way. Also, it takes the scraping of paint extremely well. When the masonite is accidentally reached (and stabbed) by an icepick or palette knife, it doesn’t even threaten to fall apart. You can sometimes push nearby paint over it, or dab a little in there, or even just leave it if you know you’re far from done and will end up covering it anyway (the latter solution being something I’m experiencing a whole lot, heh heh).

    I love the square shape of these panels, and had forgotten that shortly before mail art took over I did a few (abstract) acrylic paintings on 8×8 canvas and on 8×8 thick wood panels, and the shape was very appealing to work with.

    Yes, these past few days have led to strong temptation to start throwing paper on there, but I want to stick with the paint and see what happens. Mud hasn’t been a problem since the mid-’80s when painting (mostly representationally) in watercolor. Some challenges never really go away, even though you think they’ve escaped them forever.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Fantastic! I am so glad it is working out so well.

    There is just something wonderful about a painting surface that’s so cooperative.

    And just remember, if you suddenly decide to work BIG, you can just go over to Home Depot and get a sheet.

    Maybe not, but it’s easy to get enthusiastic!

Leave a Reply

