Saturday in the Park in June

This past Saturday, June 15, I spent at a show in West Park, Allentown, PA. The event is put on by the West Park Civic Association.

I’ve done this show for many years, since the mid-90’s, I think. And I will say that I think this is my favorite show to do. When I first exhibited here, I was welcomed by the organizers and the crowd, and it’s continued in the same way ever since. This year, as I have in the past, I brought my collage work. The spaces are large and there is plenty of room to show a lot of work without crowding things.

I see many familiar faces every year and my artwork has always been appreciated. It’s a pleasure to return.
Even my booth location has always been the same – from the first year, I have occupied space #108, under the same tree.

My booth. For this show I brought my collage work and acrylic paintings.

My booth. For this show I brought my collage work and acrylic paintings.

West Park is an arboretum, shady and green, in the middle of a historic district. The surrounding homes are mostly rows, three stories, with beautiful brickwork and details. The park is a nice oasis amid the densely-built city streets. The day after the show there is a house tour featuring residences in the neighborhood. I have long had the fantasy of moving into one of these houses – I think they are just charming.

There are other events in the park throughout the year and I can tell you, from having visited it at other times, that the park is just great on a hot summer day – peaceful and cool. If you’re ever in Allentown, visit the park.

A view looking toward the central fountain from the sidewalk in front of my booth.

A view looking toward the central fountain from the sidewalk in front of my booth.

4 thoughts on “Saturday in the Park in June

  1. laurie spencer

    Claudia, this is one of my favorite shows you do and I am so sorry I missed it this year. Unfortunately I had plans last weekend.
    Please know that, if I could, I would have changed them in a heart-beat! I would have much rather had spent my Saturday with you and Bob.
    Laurie

Leave a Reply

