Yard Art as a Second Life

I have all kinds of things scattered around my yard, set here and there among the bushes and flowers. Some are concrete/mosaic statues that I’ve made; some are carved concrete; and some are clay figures. Sometimes the items were made to go outside, and some just ended up there. I like to see a surprise in a garden and I enjoy placing them where the viewer just happens upon them while walking around.

Here are two pieces in my front yard. Both fall into the category of having been made for another purpose and now finding a second life outside.

One is a concrete stela, I think I could say – its face is half a plate I made that cracked in the kiln. Worked perfectly as the personality of this statue.

The other is a tiny clay woman figure, red clay and finished in iron oxide (I love that purple-y metallic color) standing in what was originally a separate clay piece not meant for anything in particular; I just liked making this shape. One day I set the figure into the “grotto” and they’ve been together ever since.

9 thoughts on “Yard Art as a Second Life

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, I liked her too – but there was a little problem with her in the beginning – she didn’t stand up on her own – I had orginally designed her so that her legs were hollow and she could stand on pegs in a base. But I didn’t like the look when I tried it, so she was just hanging around. One day I noticed the red clay item and thought – that could be just right, she could lean up against the wall. She’s survived a whole year outside including freezing rain and snow.

  2. Elephant

    They are both peeking! I hate to say this, but I think if these beautiful pieces were in my front yard somebody would steal them!
    Elephant

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think they have not been bothered because we have high bushes along the sidewalk and they are not really visible from the street. Plus most of them are pretty heavy. I have a lot in the back yard, too

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I like having them scattered around – they add personality! And in winter they are something to enjoy when the plants are dead or dormant.

  5. Elephant

    It sounds like a nice location! I would love to see these sculptures peeping out from behind the bushes. I have a tiny ugly little troll and a few other not so great items lurking around.
    Elephant

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Maybe I’ll put some more pictures up later on – but I’ll need a day more appealing than the rainy one we are having today to photo them!

Leave a Reply

