More Dishcloths

Here are a few more entries from the Summer Dishcloth Extravaganza that’s been going on all season at my house.

I got some variegated yarns and have been trying them out in various color combinations, still using slip stitch patterns with a plain yarn. It makes interesting patterns as the colors travel through the pattern.

Then I have one here done in plain yarns, and another made up of leftover lengths plus some variegated. All kinds of effects – it adds a little zip to dishwashing to pull out a cloth that’s got some personality, I think.

10 thoughts on “More Dishcloths

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I picked this ball of yarn from the catalog almost at random, just wanted some variegated to work with. I really like the colors together now that I see the actual yarn, and I like the calmness of the palette compared of some of the other ones (I do tend to go bright and high contrast!)

  2. Mim (Richmond, VA)

    What a good way to use up your left-overs. Are they wool yarns? I sent a bunch of my left-over yarn to a Mail Art colleague in Arizona, who makes spectacular caps with them. Now I’m down to NO yard except for a ball of really chunky hand spun wool that my daughter gave me. Really chunky, haven’t a clue what to do with it other than look at it. Love your extravaganza!

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! No, they are all cotton yarns. I like small easy quick projects in the summer so I make this kind of thing, and I get a few new yarns each year and use the ones I had from the year before. In the fall and winter I usually make a sweater or two, miscellaneous items like hats or gloves, and a lot of scarves, since I participate in a scarf giveaway for charity. I have some wool on hand for that, but not much. I cleared out all my leftovers about a year ago – our library had a yarn swap. I just a dropped mine and ran. So I only have a little yarn around now. Funny what you say about the chunky hand spun yarn, I never know what to do with that either.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    I haven’t thought of that, it sounds like a great idea. And the right kind of project to indulge the use of a lot of colorful or interesting yarns. Thanks for the mention of it, I’m going to look around for some patterns and see what strikes me.

  5. Norunn Mølsæter

    I’ m glad you like the idea, I’ve made a couple myself, those where with plane yarn and instead I made crocheted flowers of leftovers and sewed them on afterwards with a few beads to top it.
    Good luck with your cuchion project!
    Regards Norunn

  6. Sheila Evans

    I love the fact that you have so much fun doing the dishes! That’s the way to make a simply elegant life. I love using homemade dish cloths and have been doing it for years. Your color combos are beautiful. I think the variegated has made your designs very interesting.
    Best,
    Sheila

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think it dates back to when I helped my grandmother with the dishes after every meal – she didn’t have a dishwasher. Dishcloths like this are an affordable luxury and they also really last!

Leave a Reply

