Why Don’t You Try It?

Here’s a couple of postcards ready for mail art.

I enjoy making postcards. I like the size, the ease of working, and the fact that every one of my little artworks in this category will be appreciated by someone else – not just sitting in a pile somewhere around my house!

Give some thought to trying the postcard form. Here’s what I do.

1. Cut up cardboard in the correct size (4.25″ x 6″). I use leftover cardboard – cereal boxes and that kind of thing. Occasionally corrugated cardboard, if I see any around. I use a paper-cutter but if you don’t have one, well, scissors will do the job very well. And, the cards don’t have to be perfectly rectangular.

2. Decorate the cardboard in any style, using any materials that you choose. Work on either the shiny printed side or the plain side for the main image. Then turn it over and work on the other side – the address side. Make sure you take into account where the address, stamp, and return address will go, as it can be upsetting to think out a great image and then realize most of it will be covered up. And remember, it’s going to be traveling from hand to hand for some distance. Make sure any attachments are truly well-attached.

3. Choose someone to send it to. You know who would like a card – I think pretty much everyone likes getting mail. And if you want, you can find a whole group of correspondents at the International Union of Mail Artists.

4. Address it. Make sure it is clear and legible. Sometimes I will use a sticker and write the address on that. You do want the card to arrive. Then put your return address on it, in case things go wrong.

5. You can write a message, or you can leave the art to speak for itself.

6. Put the postage on it. Check the postal service website for information if you’re not sure. I usually stamp it with a first class stamp rather than a postcard stamp, just to make sure, for domestic mail. But if it’s going out of the country, it pays to check on postage.

7. Put it in the mailbox. Or go to the post office if you want to make an occasion out of it!

Easy as can be. And I think you’ll get a card back, you just might. I know I can guarantee that if someone sends me a card, I will write back.

11 thoughts on “Why Don’t You Try It?

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! Yes, we have 3 cats at the moment, and for the past 30 years there has been no time I’ve been without at least one cat. I would not like to come home to a house with no cats – I’ve always loved having them (no matter what their quirks and idiosyncracies might be…)!

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    You know, I read it that way when I saw it and I focused right on the cat lover part. I do like to “meet” other people who like them, as not everyone does.

  3. artdoesmatter

    I feel exactly the same way as you, Claudia. Personally, I cannot imagine my life without my cats. I have two now, and I feel so incredibly lucky to have them in my life. I love your handmade card – it’s FANTASTIC!!

Leave a Reply

