Paint Only

I’ve been doing some paintings that have been intended for several different purposes, and here is a selection.

Two of the pieces are “renovations” of existing paintings; I just felt the need to change them and so I did. As I’ve said before, it’s hard for me to stop making improvements – I tell people I only know when a painting is finished when someone buys it or I give it away – until then it might go through several remakings. In this group the representatives are “Ghost House” and “Just a Sliver of a Street”.

“Hidden Garden” is a new one. I set up out in my yard for a plein air session. I wanted to practice working from the scene because this weekend I will be exhibiting in a show in Easton, PA, and I’ve entered a plein air contest. I plan to paint and/or collage whatever I can see from my booth. I did this event a couple of years ago and actually ended up selling the piece I made. Plus I really enjoyed working to a deadline and with an audience.

So this painting was inspired by my garden. (No one said plein air work had to be realistic, did they?)

The three small ones I painted as a donation for the auction for the Allentown (PA) School District’s Academy of the Arts at William Allen High School.The 8″ x 8″ format was a requirement for the event; I enjoyed working with it.

7 thoughts on “Paint Only

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I think it is a lot better than what was there before and I like the way it turned out. I am determined to keep my hands off it now, I can’t do better, I think.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I am so appreciative of all your support of my work and your comments! Thank you for taking the time to look at so much of it and also to reblog it. It’s so encouraging to me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

