Remodeled #1

A little while ago I did some abstract collages on 12″ x 12″ board, 3/8″ thick. You may have seen them posted in an earlier entry. I never could get happy with them. I guess I really don’t like making something that’s truly abstract – I tend to favor a skewed view of reality that maybe heads toward the abstract. Anyway, I decided to remodel these four pieces and I’ll post them one at a time along with their earlier incarnations.

And, I gave myself an assignment in creating these new views – they had to reflect the original title. No real pressing reason for that beyond the fact that I had already written the titles on the back of the pieces and I didn’t want to mark them out! But it turned out to be a lot of fun to do things this way – and after all, I had titled the original views as I did because they brought a certain scene or feeling to mind.

Here’s the first one: “Bus Stop”. I used a photo of a bus in downtown Pittsburgh that I took when we visited there in August as my model for the bus. The running figure – well, I’ve seen that person over and over again in my own city of Philadelphia, and I guess it’s not such an unusual sight, is it?

4 thoughts on “Remodeled #1

  1. Nancy Bell Scott

    Very interesting! I love both, for different reasons. Your completely abstract works (if anything is truly completely abstract) still speak to me clearly. I probably see the abstract just as much a reality, in the end. Interesting to contemplate . . .

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I am learning that for me, a larger abstract just does not feel finished to me, or personal enough, maybe. Too random? I don’t feel this way about something about 4″ x 6″ or so but they get any bigger and I can’t get happy with them. Interesting is right, you would think I’d feel the same no matter what the size of the piece is, but the work process is different and therefore why not the feeling they leave me with?

  3. Pingback: Remodeled #2 | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

