Random People

More mail art featuring people painted in silhouette using stencils.

I make these mail art postcards by painting the shiny side of the card (remember, I am using cardboard from discarded grocery product boxes such as cereal, ice cream pops, etc., so I mean the printed side of the cardboard). I let it dry very well. Then I take my cut-out person and use it as a stencil – I paint over the whole card in another color. When I peel up the stencil, there is a silhouetted person.

I use the painted stencil figures, too – these will appear, or have appeared, in other mail art or artist books or whatever.

Then, I pick some text at random and add it to the card. It is interesting to me how fitting these little bits of conversation seem to be for each person, without any effort on my part to make a conscious choice.

Reminds me of when you hear a snippet of talk as people walk by on the sidewalk or from the next table at the coffee shop. Just a little bit of intriguing conversation and then no more – it’s tantalizing!

4 thoughts on “Random People

  1. Mim (Richmond, VA)

    Ah, I use the NON-shiny side for my Mail Art images and put mailing labels on the shiny side for the note and address. I’m not using wet mediums much, just water color. Who knows, you might have inspired me to go back to my old supplies. I love what you’re doing with these pieces. yay, you!

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you so much! I have used the plain side and done some watercolory painting type things (using thinned down acrylics) but the shiny side has always appealed to me more. I think I like how the print can still kind of show through and add to the picture in interesting random ways, that the paint doesn’t soak in but sort of sits on the surface, and also how easy it is to scratch it up or layer things.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you for looking and reading. If you want to see how I sort of stumbled into this collage poetry thing, here is a post I wrote about it a while back:
    http://claudiamcgill.wordpress.com/2013/02/12/collage-art-collage-poetry/ and also
    http://claudiamcgill.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/a-collage-poem-emerges-on-its-own/ and
    http://claudiamcgill.wordpress.com/2013/03/14/my-mind-works-the-same-way-all-the-time/

    I know it’s a lot but if you’re interested in trying it you might like to look at what I sort of stumbled into! And maybe it will interest you to try it.

Leave a Reply

