Some Purple, No Hearts

Here are two mail art postcards. Both of them were done on ad cards from the Purple Heart, an organization that picks up clothing and household items for charity. Unlike many of the ad cards I use, these are not shiny and slick-surfaced; they are printed on soft green cardstock. So, the surface takes the paint very well. Nice to work with.

I can’t remember if I’ve said this before, but it never ceases to amaze and amuse me to think that these cards I remodel are going back out into the postal system again, once I’ve given them a new personality and look. Bet they never thought they’d see the inside of a mail box again, but then, maybe they like travel. Who knows?

7 thoughts on “Some Purple, No Hearts

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I love those ad cards that come every day in the mail. The pictures and print already on the card really work well with paint. And free!

    By the way I sent your zine yesterday, so it should be arriving pretty soon.

  2. zarsstudio

    These are beautiful! Such a great concept. I bet the post office has no idea what great art they are handling when those get into their hands. Stunning work. Keep doing what you’re doing and maybe one day we’ll see one of these repurposed postcards!

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. The people at my local post office think my mail art involvement is a little strange, but they do enjoy seeing where I am sending things each time I come in. “Brazil today?” he said on Friday when I took in my latest group. I really enjoy the whole process of mail art. It’s very freeing to work on art in this manner. And if you want some mail art (not necessarily these but something) I repeat my offer that I’ve made before – send me your address at claudiamcgillart@comcast.net and something will come your way!

Leave a Reply

