Seeing Shapes in the Clouds of Paint #1

Here are some mail art postcards.

I followed my usual routine of painting on ad cards that I receive in the mail – these are all about 8″ x 5″. But I wanted to do something different with them – something besides leaving them as abstract shapes and colors. Somehow I got the idea to draw around the painted shapes I saw – kind of like looking up at the clouds and finding shapes and figures in them.

I got out my waterproof pens and got to work. I just sketched very quickly, no thinking, just my first impressions. Some odd ideas emerged, I guess, but I enjoyed it. Enough to buy some more pens that would be good for this kind of work, in fact!

One thought on “Seeing Shapes in the Clouds of Paint #1

  1. Pingback: Seeing Shapes in the Clouds of Paint #2 | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

