Two Postcards, Unrelated

There’s no theme to this grouping. The only thing the pieces have in common is that they are standard postcard size. But they illustrate a lot of things I like to do with mail art, I guess. Paint, words, drawing, silhouette figures – all included.

The “arguing men” postcard came about because I had some stray words on my table, left from working on collage poetry.

People in an argument often do not listen to each other and may not be talking about the same thing, I think. Stray words flying around, that’s what was in my mind when I made this card.

The winged creature in the other card reminds me of the flying monkeys from the “The Wizard of Oz”. I wasn’t trying to create such a creature; he just appeared in the paint. “The Wizard of Oz” is one of my favorite movies, though – I remember seeing it on television at the age of four. We had only a black-and-white TV then and so I didn’t understand about the switch to color when Dorothy landed in Oz. Didn’t matter – the movie made a big impression on me and I remember my first viewing very clearly. Maybe it’s still in my mind and this postcard is just a case of the past coming to the surface again?

Maybe a bit of a stretch there. The card has its own personality, and I will leave it at that!

4 thoughts on “Two Postcards, Unrelated

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! I don’t know where he came from but I like him. And I hope he likes it here but if not, eventually he’ll travel off somewhere else on a postcard, so…

  2. cgregory

    Your ‘winged creature’ is wonderful, in every aspect; the choice of colours, how you used them and the life that comes across through the paint. To me it is spontaneous, fresh and complete. Love it!

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! Sometimes I think the key to doing any art is knowing when to stop when things seem right, and not to fuss over it anymore. These small postcards keep me from overdoing things and so often I surprise myself. Thanks for taking the time to send this nice message to me, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

