I Got Out My Pen and Drew

Here are four more Artist Trading Cards. For three of them, I did something I’ve been enjoying a lot lately – looking at the painted background and drawing around the shapes. It’s very interesting how that works out and what emerges.

For the spotted cat, well, I painted plain white on a piece of (pizza box) cardboard, meaning to do more, but instead I just drew this little cat.

It’s very relaxing to take a pile of painted ATC’s and turn them into something. No thinking, just quick, draw what you see. And if you don’t see anything, set it aside. It’s meant for some other ATC purpose, I feel, if an idea doesn’t immediately jump out at me.

9 thoughts on “I Got Out My Pen and Drew

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I bought some new pens that work really well with the acrylic paint (others smeared or faded, took some experimenting to get around this) and so now whatever I want to try, I can do it. Gives your hand a great sense of freedom to know this! And more fun to draw or to think of things to draw.

  2. jpjpress

    I’ve got to start doing more of these. I love my sketches and doodles but nothing much ever comes of them, the rest of my art is pretty reality based, slightly skewed mind you,

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I hope you do try more of this kind of thing. I find it very relaxing since I’m not trying to be “serious” and I also think it can produce some nice results! That’s my recommendation for some pleasant art time – just enjoying where it goes instead of having a goal, as we usually do.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    I’m so happy to hear this! And I’ll look forward to seeing more. I know I said this before but it is so relaxing and calming to do this kind of thing and even better takes no equipment, set ups, etc. – just get out the materials and go right to it. Direct. Simple!

Leave a Reply

