Renewal of a Friendship

Here is a group of clay tiles in process, the first work I have done in clay since my hand surgery last May and my recovery from an associated infection. Earlier this week, I unpacked all my materials, looked over my clay, and prepared my tables for working. I decided to start the New Year by returning to this activity.

I was a little disoriented – I’ve rearranged my work space and I had forgotten some of my tools. I did wander around a little a first, but soon settled down into the routine of working. The clay I chose, an already-opened bag of red, was quite dry, but still workable, so I decided to go ahead with it. I don’t have much clay on hand right now and I am thinking about what types I will buy when I make the trip to the supplier, a trip that will be pretty soon, from the looks of things.

My hand was a little stiff, but the familiar motions came back to me very quickly. I am glad to be back at work in this medium. I am taking it slowly and focusing on the enjoyment of making things in clay.

11 thoughts on “Renewal of a Friendship

  1. Laurie Spencer

    Happy New Year, Claudia and Bob!!
    I can not believe I did not see you for the whole year of 2013. I do, however, get to look at all my wonderful art I have from you every single day.
    Claudia, I seriously think about you every day between the art I have on my walls and all the clay pieces I have around my house.
    I am glad you are getting back to your clay works…I LOVE them and probably have about 50 or more to prove it! And I love every single one of them!!
    I wish you the best for 2014!
    Laurie
    Claudia, I also read my “Illumination” book on a regular basis and it keeps me in check.
    I am thrilled to know you and to have your art through out my house!

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I have another type of clay that’s a dark reddish-brown and looks like fudge. And another that’s kind of like cookie dough. Funny how the mind makes associations like this.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am so happy to be back to work in clay. Things returning to normal in yet another little way for me. And I have missed working with the clay itself. Just different from all the other things I do. Happy New Year to you, too!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    How fantastic to hear from you and I cannot believe 2013 has passed so quickly. Thanks for all the nice things you said about my art, and you know how much I appreciate it being appreciated. I will send you an email and give you the 2013 rundown and hear all your news! Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

