Tiles, More Tiles, and Then More Tiles

It’s May, and that means it’s time for the annual Tile Festival, held at the Moravian Tile Works in Doylestown, PA. I spent this last weekend there as an exhibitor, as I have done for the past few years, and the show was the usual great experience for me.

The Tile Festival celebrates all kinds of tiles, handmade, contemporary and antique. The location is meaningful – the show is on the site of the tile works founded by Henry Chapman Mercer, and just across the lawn is his residence, Fonthill. Both of these buildings are castle-like constructions in concrete, fanciful and beautiful, and they incorporate two of the passions of Mercer’s life – tiles and building in concrete. The tile works is still in operation today, making new tiles from the molds Mercer designed. And Fonthill is open for tours.

Add to this group the Mercer Museum and then all the great restaurants and shopping in Doylestown, just a short walk away, and you have a really nice day or two all lined up for yourself!

But I’ll go back to the festival itself. We set up my display on Friday afternoon in a pouring rain, but it didn’t matter a bit because the show is held under big tents.

The weather on the weekend was beautiful and a large crowd attended the show. I especially enjoy exhibiting here because everyone who comes is very interested in and knowledgeable about what the artists have to offer. I see many customers year after year. If you are interested in tiles, it is wonderful to be able to see such a variety all in one place.

And the organizers treat the vendors very well – after the first day, they offer us a reception and dinner. It’s a great chance to talk to other tilemakers and very relaxing. All of us artists appreciate this dinner very much, believe me.

One more thing. I took the opportunity to leave a little figurine at the Tile Works entrance. I thought she would like it there very much.

Last year’s post about the festival

More information about the Tile Works

6 thoughts on “Tiles, More Tiles, and Then More Tiles

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Yes, this show is absolutely wonderful to do as an exhibitor and I look forward to it every year. Not to mention making purchases myself!

    I can highly reccommend leaving artwork out in the world the way I have been doing with the figurines. I love the thought that they are discovered, go places, people see them, and I don’t know anything about it, but I can imagine it, and since I do revisit some of the spots, I know if they have moved on, or if they are still in place and exerting whatever influence they might have there!

  2. Pingback: White Clay Tiles | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  3. Pingback: Tile Festival 2015 | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

