Peace and Hope, Leaving Some, Taking Some

This morning I went to Lorimer Park for my exercise, despite the light fog and a look of rain in the cloudy sky.

I decided to leave the rail trail and go along the interior paths. We had a torrential rainstorm last evening and they were a bit tricky to navigate – lots of washouts. This happens because the park slopes steeply down to the Pennypack Creek.

Anyway, I thought I’d take a figurine along and see if there was a place for her on a path on the other side of the park.

I found just the perfect spot on a gatepost in the fence separating the park from the Fox Chase Farm, a working educational farm that’s right next to Lorimer.

I reflected on how lucky we are to have this park and this farm here – because they are set right in the middle of a very densely populated urban area. You’d never know it when you’re in the park and looking out at this view.

I felt a sense of peace in setting this figurine here. The day was quiet and and the view almost monochromatic. Not many other people had ventured out – I’d only seen a few people in the hour or so I was there. The only sounds I could hear were the birds, the creek, a little bit of breeze rustling the leaves, and spatters of drops falling from the trees. It makes a real difference to me to experience this feeling and I am grateful for it.

Lorimer Park information
Pennypack Park information
Fox Chase Farm information

5 thoughts on “Peace and Hope, Leaving Some, Taking Some

  1. nannus

    This area looks a lot like the northern German marshes. Feels like home to me, especially with the fog.

  2. Pingback: One Morning | Claudia McGill Writes Poetry, Did You Know That?

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I am lucky to live in a place with so much natural beauty. And to me it is interesting that this sight in in the middle of a densly populated area – thousands of people live within a mile or two of here and looking at this, you would not know it.

  4. Pingback: There Is An Order to Things | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

