Done, Finally, I Hope

“Very Hot Summer Day” – I painted this picture about a year ago. I could never quite feel it was finished, complete, said what I wanted to say, whatever you like. Nonetheless, I took it around to shows.

Since it hadn’t sold, I decided that I’d obey my feelings and work on it again.

So here is the result. I like it better now. My mind is at rest. I will be able to look at it in my display at shows and not think – I really wish I’d done more to that painting…

(Acrylics, 24″ x 20″)

12 thoughts on “Done, Finally, I Hope

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. It’s a process of trial and error! And happiness and contentment! I really enjoy the process of painting, and I am happy when I finally get to a place in the painting when I feel satisfied.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    You could be right. The title is from before. But I might keep it still. Because while I was working on it, I was thinking of my childhood spent out in the country and how we used to live among pastures and fields (now suburbs). And be outside all the time and everything just shimmered with how hot it was. Everything very still.

    Hmmm. I will have to think…

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am happy with it now. Funny how it seems I have to paint a whole painting, let it sit, and then – suddenly – start back in on it. This is a familiar pattern. But – it seems to work! And I like working that way. Just funny how things go.

  4. Gillian Cook

    I think a little space is essential. When I’m working on something I often stop and leave it in a place I’ll see it in passing during the day. Then after a little time has passed I go back. Makes a world of difference.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, you are so right. I often prop them up in our living room in front of the fireplace or TV table and they stay there until I can think what to do. Unless, of course, I think they are finished, display them, and then, suddenly take against them! It can happen anytime! But the thing is not to rush them, I guess.

  6. Maria

    What a perfect painting! I’m glad you felt it wasn’t finished because the improvement is amazing 🙂

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! Sometimes it seems that things need more time to develop and therefore I must be patient. And also listen to that nagging feeling of not being satisfied with a piece, rather than just saying, Oh, I just want to be finished, this is good enough!

Leave a Reply

