Train Trip

About a year ago I made a train trip to Pittsburgh to visit my son. I spent the trip glued to the window. And I took notes in my little orange Rhodia notebook, though not with any real purpose in mind – maybe I thought it might jog my memory when describing the trip to my family and friends.

I thought of making a zine out of it because of a friend – a zine-maker herself. The trip seemed like a good fit for a zine. I was further encouraged by a visit to the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, where there is a great zine collection (I eventually submitted mine to the library and it’s now in their collection).

Now a friend has posted it on the little orange notebook’s blog – she is the editor and a wonderful artist herself. Take a look if you’d like – the whole text is published. And if you want an actual copy, let me know and I’ll send you one.

Thank you to Stephanie, the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, and Katie!

And here’s a picture, not of a train, but of one of the things I really enjoyed on the trip – the buses in Pittsburgh are all different colors, and I loved seeing them moving around the city…
yellow bus #2

6 thoughts on “Train Trip

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    It just seemed to write itself. The trip was a big event for me. I do not travel a lot and so every mile was an adventure. And I thank my friend Stephanie for putting it on the blog as she did. I think it turned out well. Thank you!

  2. nannus

    It arrived in my mail today. Thank you. I was pleasantly surprised by the nice book cover and the beautiful business cards. 🙂

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Glad you like it. I think it’s better in person than on the internet (though I appreciated it being put on the internet very much). Thought I’d take the opportunity to send some ATC’s your way as well – I figured why not let the envelope do a little extra work? thanks for all your support of my work, Claudia

Leave a Reply

