A Good Size

Here are some 6″ x 6″ acrylic paintings done on 3/8″ board. I think this size is a great one to work with – it’s large enough to have some complexity but still a very concentrated image must be done to make a good picture.

I think my painting work is evolving. I have been doing a lot of painting in the last year. Much more than my collage work, it seems, and I’m perfectly happy to be going along this way. There is something very focusing and soothing about putting strokes of paint on a surface and seeing something take shape. I’ve gotten better at knowing how to accomplish things if I get an idea (rather than just hoping I can take a stab at things and it will all work out!).

Anyway, take a look.

2 thoughts on “A Good Size

  1. slmann

    Hi Claudia – masterful art, what I like is when I first look I see shapes and colors in an interesting composition. Then my second look I see the image you are portraying. Each one is beautiful, but I’m partial to the lady sleeping in the chair. – Sharon

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I think what you are saying is exactly what I hope will happen when people look at these! Made me feel great. I think it comes about because I first kind of paint randomly and set up what I think is a nice set of shapes and colors, and then – it seems to turn into something more objective as I look at it, and I follow that and try to enhance it. The thing is not to over work the picture, just let it emerge. Great process to follow and very relaxing and focusing.

    I think the sleeping lady is my favorite, too.

Leave a Reply

