Neighborhood Under Construction

I’ve been making these small clay houses for a while. I do a few every so often. They are two or three inches high.

I use mid-fire clays, choosing different colors as the mood strikes me. I construct the house and then let it dry for a while, until it holds its shape but is still a little flexible.

I use underglazes to paint the houses. I try hard to coat them evenly, but if it doesn’t work out that way, I don’t worry. I also choose colors that will contrast with the underlying clay color.

Then I take my needle tool and incise the clay to outline the various features.

I like these little houses. I plan to make more and more of them. It’s the kind of object that you can play with – I have always loved houses and I can very easily fall into quite a daydream about these little residences and their occupants as I move them around.

16 thoughts on “Neighborhood Under Construction

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    There is something about miniatures of anything that appeals to me, always has. And a village of little houses is fun to make and fun to play with no matter how old I get!

  2. Pingback: Clay House Neighborhood | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  3. galeriaredelius

    Wonderful houses! And when they are put out in the garden, it’s even easier to imagine stories about them. So playful! Is it a kind of clay that can stay outdoor, like permanently?

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I spent my childhood building little housed out of scrap wood and other cast off things and so it seems these houses are just more of the same to me! Yes, they are stoneware clay and could stay outside all year. I have some other items made of the same clay that are outside all the time and have done well.

Leave a Reply

