Colorful Ladies

I’m going to show a lot of clay in the next week or so. I’ve been working on quite a few different themes recently and have gotten the items all to their finished states and ready to be seen. So – I’ll start with these figurines.

They are done in terracotta clay, fired at cone 05. I used Velvet underglazes for their colors and applied them when the clay was still damp enough to scrape into – you can see the incised lines and the red of the clay showing through. Each one is about 6-7 inches tall.

I decided to leave their faces without any embellishment. The clay is light enough to see their features and it makes a good contrast to the busyness of their dresses.

As I have been doing with all the large figurines I’ve been making lately, I have given each a motif to carry in her hands. I choose images that mean something to me and maybe to anyone who sees the figures. You may wonder about the time I chose for the lady carrying the clock. I’ve made figures with clocks before, with different times depicted. This one is very special to me – it’s the time my son was born more than 26 years ago!

I like the colorful nature of these figures. I hope to make more of them.

10 thoughts on “Colorful Ladies

  1. agnesashe

    I think leaving the faces unadorned makes for a clearer contrast with the colourful dresses and results in a more striking work. Charming.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I had to think about it, but I do tend to want to ornament everything and every surface, and it was hard to stop. But luckily with these underglazes, the unfired result is close to the fired result, and so I could see that it was time to stop. Before I went that one step too far… thank you.!

  3. Sharon Mann

    Your ladies are wonderful! I love the color, design and specifically the peek-a-boo look dress on the sunflower lady.

  4. Pingback: Ladies! Ladies! | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

  5. Pingback: Small Ladies in Clay | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

