I Am Unique

This lady is about 3" tall or so. Terracotta clay with Velvet underglazes, fired at cone 05.

This lady is about 3″ tall or so. Terracotta clay with Velvet underglazes, fired at cone 05.

When I work in clay, I seem to be attracted to doing a series, or even several different series at the same time. I like exploring the individuality of similar items. So if I make one small figurine in a painted dress, you can be pretty sure there will be more. And more. Until one day I just get tired of them and stop. No more!

Once in a while, though, I make just one. Maybe I don’t keep going because the first one wasn’t interesting to me for some reason. Or, sometimes, one is just enough.

This figurine was composed of leftover pieces of clay from other items. She’s a little rectangle-box-shaped lady with four tiny feet.

Maybe I’ll make her some cousins and sisters someday. Not right now. I do like her, though.

2 thoughts on “I Am Unique

  1. Vickie

    Your wonders never cease!!! I so enjoy coming here to see what you’ve been up to. I love it all. Thank you for the inspiration and doing what you do.!!!!!

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    You made my day. Thanks for telling me this. My artwork and poetry are so important to me and I really take it to heart when someone else gets something from them. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

