Out There in the Fresh Air

In September I participated in the Riverside Festival of the Arts in Easton, PA. I’ve exhibited in this show for a long time, about 15 years, and I love doing it. I belong to the Arts Community of Easton, an arts group in the city, and I’ve exhibited in several places there over the years. Easton is about 50 miles from where I live and yet I always feel at home when I visit. I’ve gotten know a lot of people there through my arts connection and I have many great memories and friends there.

Each year the festival puts on a plein air event in addition to the other things going on (which include art, poetry, and music). I have participated in it in the past (take a look at last year’s experience); this was my third time. Since my husband attends the show with me, he can watch the booth while I work. I pick a spot nearby, though, so that I can go back and forth. This limits my choice of subjects, but that’s not a problem – the fair is held in two adjacent parks along the Delaware River, with a great view right in front of me.

I painted this year – in the past I’ve done collage/mixed media. I chose a scene slightly downriver from the show – you can see a little portion of the dam, some canal lock buildings, and a bit of a bridge. I worked all afternoon on Saturday and some on Sunday – the piece had to be turned in Sunday afternoon and we were not allowed to work on it overnight. This year my friend John came to see me and sat with me as I painted. He took a lot of pictures – I felt like a celebrity. It was nice to have company as I worked. The title of the picture is one he suggested.

This painting won second prize in the contest. I was very happy to be recognized.

I like painting in this manner, quickly, and right from the scene.

"Nature's Melody" acrylics on canvas, 18" x 18" plein air painting at the Riverside Festival of the Arts, September, 2014

“Nature’s Melody”
acrylics on canvas, 18″ x 18″
plein air painting at the Riverside Festival of the Arts, September, 2014

2 thoughts on “Out There in the Fresh Air

  1. Vickie

    Congratulations on this and all you’ve accomplished thus far. Your work continues to be a bright spot on my day, week, or whenever I see what’s new in your inner world of art. It’s touching the soft spot in me and hope it continues. Many fall blessings to you and family!

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, I am glad you feel that way. I always hope that people will enjoy what I am doing and it makes them smile a bit, maybe! I hope you are well and that fall and winter bring you a lot of good things…

Leave a Reply

