I Hate Winter

Last year I did. I hated winter. A whole lot of other people felt the same way, I know, but for me it seemed personal. Winter was nipping at my heels with big shiny teeth. For lots of reasons, winter really took a lot out of me.

I needed to get a grip on things before this winter came. I knew that. One thing I did was to make these little paintings. The idea was to face all the miserable winter things that happened and give it right back.

I think the exercise was helpful. And now that winter is here, I look at these paintings and say to myself – this is last winter. Not now!

As a note, I showed them to some people and ended up making cards out of some of them. Gave some away and sent some. I liked that. Somehow it seems to show defiance!

The scenes are all from my memories of last winter – electricity out for five days in sub-freezing weather, snow after snow after snow, trees toppled, dark and cold nights. I think I’ve covered the whole subject.

This year I am ready for you, Winter!

The paintings are all done in acrylics on junk mail ad cards, each about 8″ x 5″. In some cases I drew a small pen and ink sketch, pasted it on to a card, and then added paint.

6 thoughts on “I Hate Winter

  1. agnesashe

    Ah yes – let your creative side work through the troubles and get it out there and on paper. Often both the making and the looking one removed at the finished pieces helps to distance the associated emotions. I hope your winter is not as cold and brutal as last year’s.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, Sharing my anxious feelings and thoughts helps to diminish their effects! They lose power when exposed to the light of day.

    So far winter is going along well. Nothing like last December. Just normal winter! That’s great.

    Thanks for thinking of me.

Leave a Reply

