Ladies Who Are Friends

Here are some large clay women figurines I made in the fall of 2014. I say large, because I make smaller ones, but these ladies are only about 6″-7″ tall. I used terra cotta clay fired at cone 05. The colors come from Velvet underglazes applied when the clay was leather-hard, more or less, and then scratched into with a needle or loop tool.

I love making these figures. I love making their colorful outfits and choosing a little item for each woman to hold. And I love their faces – each one with something she’s just about to say, it always seems to me.

5 thoughts on “Ladies Who Are Friends

  1. Alice

    I love that they are holding unconventional objects: a tree, a house, a car. Gives an air of being both ladies from the neighborhood — and something mythological…

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I think I make them (and all the other figurines I do) to express the idea of being ordinary and yet not ordinary. Or maybe the extraordinary that being ordinary is?

    I wonder if this makes sense. Anyway. Thanks for looking at them and enjoying them.

    I make lots of figurines, you might be interested to look at more, just search the category “Figurines” on the blog.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I do love the chance to use lots of color with them and it’s spilling over into other things I’ve been making. Set me in a new direction.

  4. Pingback: In which THE INTERNET. RUINS. NOTHING! | coffee and a blank page

Leave a Reply

