Sunshine Photos Part Five

A couple of weeks ago my husband and I went to a play in a local theater. It was called “Unnecessary Farce” and it was hilarious.

I like going to plays. I’m surprised at that, because I don’t like movies, and I usually have a hard time sitting still through a concert or speech or that kind of thing. But at a play, well, I get very absorbed into it and the time flies. I think it may be because it’s all so immediate and the story flows on. Plays are designed to work this way as opposed to movies, with their more fragmented way of presenting a story.

Anyway, I took a couple of pictures at the theater. Both of these I later played around with – I wanted to express the dreamlike nature of watching a play, I guess? Because that’s how they both turned out. The first one is the stage set at the end of the play. In the second one, I layered a picture with people in it over one of the stage setting.

One thing I really like about the theater is the contrast of the dark area we audience member occupy vs. the brightly lighted sharp-as-daylight stage – for the time we are in the theater the play is real life and the audience is suspended in obscurity. It’s interesting to think about.

Anyway, the play was a lot of fun and so was remembering it through these photos.

2 thoughts on “Sunshine Photos Part Five

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. Sometimes I think if every inch of the world were divided up and the challenge was to find something interesting, well, it wouldn’t be hard to do so – we have so many details and inspirations all over the place, don’t we? The most ordinary things are not.

Leave a Reply

