Scrawling a Picture or Two

I bought a whole box of 8″x10″ birch boards and prepared them all with gesso. My intention was to paint a lot of small pictures using photos I took during the Sunshine Project or more recently as the inspirations.

I was thinking to try to be somewhat literal – meaning to follow the photo as closely as I could. In this way I am revisiting the location and the moment that I took the photo and evaluating the experience of being in that place. It is a good way to think about the small moments in everyday life that can get overlooked. This lesson is something I am trying to take forward with me from the Sunshine Project.

Things did not work out as I had thought, really. The part about taking time to absorb an experience is very valid, but the way I was going about it was maybe not quite right for me. I was once again reminded that I value my painting life for its lack of direction and structure. For the idea that what I paint does not have to make sense. I felt a bit trapped.

Still, what I also learned was – using the photos as a starting point and then adding or subtracting or amending made a good way of working. When I thought about things, I realized that once again it’s all in my attitude about the process. It’s up to me to decide how it goes. When I came to this conclusion, balance seemed to be restored to my art/painting/memory process, and I was happy.

Anyway. I started off a group of four paintings by quickly drawing in the outlines of shapes in black paint on the white background. I liked the way this looked. I think I would like to try painting with some watery acrylics later on.

Here is the finished foursome. Each painting has a meaning to me – they are all directly drawn from my everyday life.

Leave a Reply

