Reality and Then There’s My Version

As I mentioned before, I’ve been doing paintings based on everyday sights around my area – some of the photos that are used as references were from the Sunshine Project and others just snapshots of daily life. Many times I’ve taken a picture out of my car window (while stopped, of course). Keeping the camera readily available has been a good idea.

Here are some paintings and the photos that inspired them. All are 8″ x 10″ on birch board, painted in acrylics.

9 thoughts on “Reality and Then There’s My Version

  1. agnesashe

    ‘Woman and Tractor Trailer’ shows how with an artist’s interpretation the mundane can become stylish and infused with energy. I’ve found you’ve made me think twice and I’m inspired to try and start re-looking at the everyday.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I took that picture from my car as I sat at a light. I’ve started keeping the camera at hand just to try to catch this kind of moment. I credit the Sunshine Project with making me remember the importance of the everyday things that get overlooked.

    Plus I love trucks and cars. Always have!

    I wonder how you would interpret a tractor trailer and a woman walking along? I would love to see it!. It seems a challenge to make something like that identifiable and yet wearable, in fabric.

    I am rambling. Thanks for your comment. I appreciate it that you saw what appealed to me in that scene.

  3. agnesashe

    Not rambling at all – yes, I’ve been thinking about translating everyday 21st century stuff into designs with a hint of the past. I have done one series with a large water pitcher, but the whole design is ornate and it’s only when I specifically point it out that people see the shape of the jug. Challenges are good though, don’t you think! ‘Woman and Tractor Trailer’ is a successful outcome.

  4. Norunn Mølsæter

    nice work Claudia! -and an inspiration for everyone that would like to paint, but do not know how to get started / what to paint on their blank canvases, I know there are a few of those out there 🙂

  5. Chris

    Woman and Tractor trailer – I think it has an energy and a story that transcends the photo.She’s in a hurry – why? What catches her eye about the trailer – is it those blood coloured spots? Does she recognise the driver? What’s in that big bag she’s carrying? Whose story is it??

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you so much for seeing so much in my work. This is how I feel about these little paintings – I hope to catch a little slice of life and my feeling is that there are always so many questions in even the most ordinary events. Life is interesting and often the most often-seen things are quite mysterious. thank you!

Leave a Reply

