Art Book On the Move

Here’s an artist book I made not too long ago. I took two painted surfaces (ad cards, the shiny kind you get in the mail and that advertise pool cleanings, eyeglass deals, or retirement homes, etc.) and folded them in half and stapled them. Then, I sat down to do what is, I guess, a collage poem in several parts, to fit the pages. The text just sort of evolves, depending on what direction the snippets of print send me in.

I made this book to send to someone. It’s a spur to my creativity to fit words and art together like this.

Here are pictures of the book and the text is typed out below.

It Was Just A Dream Flowing Past

1.
sleep
wandering across the rooftops
between the dark
and insomnia.

2.
roads in the dark disappearing
into the black forgetful sky

3.
fear
That old thief
was in jail.
The reward was
to survive.
nobody around here
had to be reminded to survive.

4.
darkness broken
gray light
gray clouds,
light.
The black scorch of night
washed clean
and the tall white building
upright in the sunlight

5.
this morning
the burning dark
and
the bruised daylight
come to a sudden
agreement

6.
the light tapping at the windows
a cold chill pale day
and unpredictable
the whole story nearly forgotten
and
hastily scribbled down.

14 thoughts on “Art Book On the Move

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you! You made my day.

    I hope you might try it yourself. There is no standard way to make little books like these so anything you’d like to try will work great, I find. I am almost always led in a direction I never anticipated when I make them. The same thing that I like when I am reading books!

  2. createarteveryday

    I am going to try it, Claudia. It’s just what I need for the letter P. (My blog is alphabetical, for the time being anyway. N posts tomorrow.) Seriously, this rocks. Thanks again.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. It was an unusually satisfying one for me to make. I feel the words and the painting fit well together and kind of inspired each other.

Leave a Reply

