Mail Me

Two mail art postcards. They are done in acrylics and painted on ad cards (you know, the slick shiny printed matter that comes – free – to your mailbox). I do like their slippery surfaces and the interaction of the printed pictures and text already on the card with the paint.

Here is a shout-out to my friend Martha, who every so often slips up to my porch and leaves a bag of ad cards and the like for me to use. I appreciate it, because I go through a lot of them. Thank you, Martha!

6 thoughts on “Mail Me

  1. Martha

    Love the painted cards. Happy to facilitate my own enjoyment of your talent!! Smile. ( you found the recent delivery )

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, and thank you. As always!

    Good thing you came when you did. A day later and we had the porch taken up and new concrete. All this week!

  3. Jeanette Clawson

    I think I may try making some of these. You have inspired me in so many ways. I just recently included my first reconstituted collage poem as part of my latest big collage and it was so very fun and exciting! I’m looking at your art with new eyes these days in more ways than one. My new glasses with prisms ground up in them have cleared up much of the blurriness in my vision and my latest collage is a BIG celebration of little details. 🙂 I look at your art and I wonder how your cataract surgery will impact it. There is such freshness and energy now. It is exciting to think what the future will be!

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you so much for your encouragement. I have been thinking a lot about vision lately, obviously, and I am so happy to hear your new glasses make such a difference. I had my second surgery yesterday and I think it went better than the first in terms of how I am feeling, though my first eye is healing great. It will be an adjustment – my vision has essentially flipped from extreme nearsightedness to farsightedness! But eventually I will get my glasses when my eyes heal and I think I’ll be very happy. It does take different strategies for seeing, though, with the change, already I realize that. I am so happy to have my vision after the events of the last year and really look forward to returning to my usual work.

    I hope you will try mail art like this – it is a very freeing process and I do like the idea of using discarded mail as the surface, and also I just like the slickness of the cards to paint on. I’ll be interested to see where your work goes with your new eyes!

Leave a Reply

