From the Woods

I’ve resumed painting stick ladies.

You may remember them from last year, but if you don’t, here is the process:

Pick up sticks in the woods. The ones you want are dried out, have lost their bark, and do not fall apart when you bang them against a tree or a fence.

Take them home and put them in the dishwasher to get rid of any bugs, etc., that might be hiding.

Take them outside and set them on your porch. Let them stay there for some weeks or until you feel they are good and dried out.

Take them inside and paint them.

Accumulate them and give them to people, keep them yourself, or set them around town for others to pick up.

That’s it!

15 thoughts on “From the Woods

  1. memadtwo

    I love these! I’m always picking up stuff in the woods and have painted a lot of sticks but not ladies. Mind if I copy you? Love the idea of leaving them around.

  2. dorandana

    well Claudia, you’ve done it again….I don’t think I was following your blog last year, so no…I hadn’t seen these….I am smiling at the thought of them being left around town….its, ah, passively provocative (?)

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I like to leave art around, I enjoy the thought of someone picking it up.

    I don’t know if you follow one of my other blogs, claudiamcgilladvice.wordpress.com, but if you go there and search under Sunshine Project you will see a long term project I did last winter that involved dropping off little clay items around our area.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Actually, there are four, but the Museum one is more sporadic. Don’t feel bad, I don’t think I have them listed that obviously, and also, it’s certainly very reasonable that people might have an interest in one thing I do and not another. Or time. Or energy! So I wouldn’t ever expect anyone to follow so much! I like having them set up this way so that each one has its own theme and I can keep things straight in my head…sort of…

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    It makes me feel that I’m participating in some kind of unseen but very big – I don’t know – stream of art? to be doing it. I do like to imagine how people feel when they find them, too, and it’s gratifying to go by the locations and see them – gone!

Leave a Reply

