Diary of an Art Fair

This past weekend I participated in the Collingswood Crafts and Arts Festival, held in a New Jersey suburb just across the river from Philadelphia. It’s a large, well-organized show, with a lot of vendors, food, and musicians located along the main street in Collingswood.

The weekend weather was stupefying blistering hot, and that held attendance down and also sales. It took a lot of bottles of water to make it through the two days. Still, it was a good experience and I also had the chance to catch up with some of my art fair friends – I’ve had to cancel some shows this summer because of my eye surgeries and so I’ve missed out on seeing people.

I’ll go right into the “diary”, then.


We arrive on Saturday morning very early, before seven AM. At this show, we unload our items on to the sidewalk, remove the car, and then wait a bit. Once the arrival time is closed, we all start our set-ups at the same time. It’s very easy to do things this way.


It is an interesting sight when everyone sets up their tents. We each have our own equipment; the show supplies only the 10′ x 10′ space.


Our tent and its progression.


Street scene during set-up.


Now the show starts!


On Saturday night, we close up our tents. I take down my artwork, but some people leave their wares in their booths. On Sunday, I rearranged my work before the show. I like to do that so that I get a different view each day.


On Sunday evening we take it all down again. I did not photograph the dismantling process (maybe I will at another show) because we were tired from the heat and the long days.


There is a certain routine to art fairs. Though every one is a little different, the basic process is the same. We had pleasant neighbors and a good location in the show, and that makes a big difference.

3 thoughts on “Diary of an Art Fair

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I was worried it was a bit chaotic since I have a lot of small pieces right now, but, I think it worked out. I do like to have the chance to see all my pieces out at one time.

Leave a Reply

