Portrait of a Beauty in Late Summer

In March I mentioned a warehouse/factory building next to the parking lot of the Pennypack Trail, where I often run or walk. Here it is in August.

Warehouse at Welsh Road parking lot 8-27-15 #2 small

I’m fascinated by this building. It’s still in active use, so I am restricted to the view of it I can get from the park. That concentrates my idea of what the building is – I can only really examine one façade of it.

The building looks like it is full of – to put it plainly – junk, and yet I heard sounds of banging or hammering coming from inside, meaning someone is doing something in there. And I know it’s busy – I see the trucks and cars parked around it and people going in and out. It’s a bit of a mystery.

Lastly, it’s a typical example of a style of building once very common around here in Philadelphia – the huge long open span building with clerestory windows. No extra detail, meant to be utilitarian only, and yet beautiful.

Yesterday was a sunny bright day and after I finished my exercise I got out my camera for more pictures. This time I concentrated on the windows. I just can’t get over the wild array of detail and color in these simple shapes.

So, here are the pictures.

This building is just the kind of place I’d like to tour. Forget museums or historic houses, as much as I like them – a factory or warehouse like this one is just the thing for me.

10 thoughts on “Portrait of a Beauty in Late Summer

  1. Nancy Bell Scott

    Oh, Claudia! Fabulous photos of the fabulous old windows of that fabulous old building. What a treat! These just might be inspiring enough to snap me out of an artist’s block. Such food and fuel for the imagination.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I could have kept right on snapping pictures. This building really appeals to me for some reason.

    Not to mention I would REALLY like to get inside there and see what all that stuff is.

    I hope the old place helps you! It does remind me of your work, now that you say this.

  3. Sheila Evans

    So glad there are more of us in the world! That building would have stopped me in my tracks had I seen it and THANKS for showing it to me. In some ways I’d love to see what goes on in there and in some ways I never want to know. Love your pictures.
    Sheila

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thanks!

    I feel the same way about the insides. I am especially intrigued by the dead – vines – I think they are – I can see at some windows. Could be ANYTHING.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I have always liked walking around and looking at buildings – much more than “official” tourist sites. And I do like the description of me as a psychogeographer! I will keep it up!

  6. Alice

    Please bring an expert in architectural stability — or at least, yknow, in *flooring* — with you, if you do decide to take that tour!

Leave a Reply

