All At Sea and For Free

When I ordered art supplies recently they included a free sample of Claybord. It was 3″ x 8″ and I promptly painted this little sea scene on it.

I liked the surface. I might buy the product. That’s of course why they sent it to me. But – I really did like it and it’s not something I would have noticed on my own, maybe, given all the choices in the catalog.

And there would never have been this little view of the ocean if someone hadn’t slipped in the sample. So thank you!

Long thin seascape 9-4-15 3x8 small

14 thoughts on “All At Sea and For Free

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. The support is Claybord. Then I painted a layer of black acrylic on it. It dried quickly. Then I painted the other colors and scraped through them with a knitting needle. Some went through to the black and some all the way to the white Claybord surface.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I’ve learned to think about undercolors a lot more. I usually use paint right out of the tube so that’s how I blend them, by layering, and/or by scratching through to lowers layers.

Leave a Reply

