Inspiration and Expression of the Inspiration

Here’s a winding path that I’m going to map out for you and who and what I met along the way.

I follow the blogs of a fellow artist, Phillipa King. (Look here and here.) One day she posted a bit of information about a painter I’d never heard of, Nicolas de Stael. I loved the poetry and painting she did in response to his paintings, so, I had to look him up. When I saw his work, I felt an instant – feeling of being at home? – with and in his images.

I felt the need to paint landscapes myself, to go to places in my own head in my own way, so to speak. I didn’t have any intention of copying or imitating his work; instead, it seemed to spark something in me that needed to be expressed.

These three paintings are part of that bit of travel – each one is 12″ x 16″ and done in acrylics on board.

I also did about a hundred (yes) smaller paintings – either 6″ x 6″ or 5″ x 7″. I happened to have a lot of boards in these sizes, they are quite cheap, and so I had stockpiled them just for something like this moment. I have a plan for them – later on I will reveal it, but for now, take a look at these paintings, and let me express my thanks to Pippa and to Nicolas de Stael for something meaningful in my art life.

10 thoughts on “Inspiration and Expression of the Inspiration

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I did them at the end of the many small ones I mentioned and I think I was getting the hang of what I wanted to be doing rather than it happening randomly, mostly. Practice will make a difference.! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

