Trees. Trees. Trees. Trees.

I like painting trees.

I also like the fact that the average tree has about the same lifetime as a person, something I learned many years ago and have never forgotten. Of course, there are exceptions. I can think of one, an oak tree in the front yard of my former home, that the arborists estimated was about 220+ years old when it finally had to come down. Usually, though, a person and a tree will grow old together, living a similar number of years.

Maybe this connection is why I return to picturing trees. Here are some recent ones. They are all done in acrylics, 6″ x 6″, on board.

14 thoughts on “Trees. Trees. Trees. Trees.

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    These are all wonderful. I love the way you use the trees and their branches as a way to divide up areas of the painting. I love the shapes and textures in trees too but, now I’m thinking about it, they don’t make it into my art work very often.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I think we tend to adopt motifs, unconsciously, in our work. And they change. I know I go through stages of wanting to depict this one thing, or another, and then the urge ends. I used to fight it in that I wanted to make each work “unique” but now I view my art more as expressing myself and so I let it run its course rather than thinking about what the viewer or buyer or whatever is wanting. Maybe your tree time has just not come yet?

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I find myself working in more and more of an abstract way. Sometimes I forget what it was I was trying to portray and just am maneuvering shapes and colors. I like it.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. As I said, I love trees and I have always been very interested in them since I was young. Maybe I’m remembering a former life as a tree-spirit believer?

Leave a Reply

