Newcomers #2

Here is the rest of the recent crop of paper dolls.

I make them from the same store of cardboard that I collect for postcards and ATC’s – cereal boxes, popsicle boxes, crackers, butter, cookies, you name it. I cut a person-sized rectangle (these people are all about 5-6″ tall) and create the figure (my source for body parts and clothing is currently back issues of Architectural Digest that my library so nicely saves for me). Then I cut out around the person and there you go – another personality added to our world, and so quickly and easily too.

Paperdolls 12-15 #4 small Paperdolls 12-15 #3 small Paperdolls 12-15 #2 small

19 thoughts on “Newcomers #2

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thanks, I know, I like her fashion sense also. I have never totally understood why shoes have to match. When I used to knit socks I never made a pair, just coordinating ones, I hated doing the same thing twice…

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Well, I don’t know. I have had a lot of practice with paper dolls over my life, so maybe that helps. And the really nice photos and paper of Architectural Digest cannot be discounted.

    Try making some, I bet you’d have a blast. One hint, cut the rectangle, make the person, then cut around it. Easier to do it this way. I know I said it in the post, but I’m repeating it in case you try it, because I used to “dress” the people shapes and that is fiddly and tedious…

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Wow, what an idea, and really, quite attainable. I plan to make more people soon, they really are so relaxing for sitting on the sofa and chatting or TV watching. I’d be happy to enlist you or anyone else who wants to join in! I am thinking library books might be a good location to spread them around, but – I must pick books people are checking out or the poor things could linger… forever…lonely… I also thought bulletin boards, store shelves, train station in the brochure holders, plenty of ideas…!!!

  4. Manja Mexi Movie

    Very good! Just don’t put them in the Gray book no matter how much it’s borrowed 😀 Better choose your favourite books – people who take these will love your people as well. 🙂

  5. Vickie

    I would join you in your endeavor to paper the world with these charming little souls. It would be a better place indeed!

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, pretty soon, I’d be saying, well, this is getting boring, let’s try doing this – or that – and next thing you know, I’ve gotten the pink slip!

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Well, I can supply the talent, endless numbers of them, but I’ll have to get a production company started for the show. And of course, we need a Tim Gunn figure. Maybe I can do that myself and save money. Like I have any idea about clothes…

Leave a Reply

