Small Landscape Project – Second Twenty-One

Today is January 21, and we are one-third of the way through winter. I have marked on the calendar the four 21’s that occur during the Small Landscape Giveaway – two so far, since I started with December 21. I want to take a little bit of time to reflect on the project, and to thank everyone for their interest, appreciation, support, participation, and just over all good wishes for the project.

Let me back up a little bit and say that this activity is the result of what I did last winter – the Sunshine Project, that I chronicled on one of my other blogs, Sometimes You Get So Confused. Last year, I was very much in the middle of recovering from a couple of just awful years. I was terrified of winter and what associations the past couple of winters had had for me. I needed something to do that would help me just put one foot in front of the other. The Sunshine Project did that. Though it involved artwork in the form of the little sunshine disks, mostly it was about getting out into the world again.

box full of sunshine

This winter is different. I am healed from my illnesses and surgeries. I was not left unmarked by the experiences – I have been left with some real deficits. I have also learned how easily and quickly life can turn and bite you, seemingly without any malice, but with real effects all the same. Imagine a creature with big teeth, saying, It’s nothing personal, but – it’s your turn…

But I also owe that creature a debt of gratitude. I am a changed person, and for the better. It sounds Pollyannaish to say so, to thank the teeth that bit me for the scars they left, but – somehow I’ve taken a turn here that has set me on a better path. I’m not going to try to understand it any more than that. I’m just going to keep on as I have been re-directed and leave figuring things out to someone else.

So the Small Landscape Giveaway is a lot of fun for me, because I am so happy that I am able to be doing art, and communicating about it, and participating in life again. Every time I pick up a paintbrush or get out my scissors and papers or my clay tiles or even the stick ladies – I feel lucky. Thanks, everybody, for letting me send out my art to you and to know it’s being appreciated. It really means a lot to me.

OK, let’s keep going. Spring is coming! And I’ll tell you a sure sign of it – at the park where I exercise in warmer weather, the closing time at sunset has been put back to 5:30 PM from 5:00 PM. The earth continues to move around the sun and we’re going right along with it.

Park sign - Lorimer 1-16

21 thoughts on “Small Landscape Project – Second Twenty-One

  1. memadtwo

    Yes, the light! That’s always what I notice first.
    And thanks for sharing your journey with us. It helps us (well me for sure) to look at the world from new angles too. And…constant inspiration! Where would I be without Junk Mail Art? So, yes.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. It helps to make sense of things, something we can do ourselves, and also when to recognize when there is no sense to things, and grab on to what anchors us. There is always something, that is what I believe.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I know it helps me and I enjoy being a person who has something to give. I think I felt for a lot of my life that this was not the case, and I am grateful to have found a way now. I really appreciate what everyone in my blog world has done for me and I want to say thanks, and to keep a smile on my face and others, too. Because you are right. Winter can get – dark!

  4. Sandra McCall

    Lovely post Claudia. I’m sorry to learn that you have been having tough times. But I like your oh-so-true notes about hardships changing us for the better. 🙂

  5. Laura (PA Pict)

    I really applaud your attitude. Embracing the crap stuff that life throws at us and processing it into something positive shows such a strength of spirit and personality I think.

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. It is a good thing we can’t foretell the future, so we have an incentive to try to make it go our way. That’s all I’ve done, just not give up, I think.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. You know, last winter, I was very aware of each day, the number, etc. Hoping not to get ambushed! This year, I realize I have a lot more relaxed attitude. Time does heal things.

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I am in a lot better frame of mind this year as compared to last year and that was much better than the year before. Time heals. We keep going. I appreciate all the people who have helped me along the way and I don’t take my health for granted anymore, or my artwork or writing activities.

  9. Vickie

    Good morning. Always a bit of sunshine to get your pictures and posts. It’s so true about the teeth in life. It’s one of the most difficult things to embrace; the forced changes that bring us to the edge where all things grow. You do inspire me in so many ways and I thank you always and again for showing up when and where you are needed most.

  10. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I feel very humble at what you have said. It makes me feel good that you feel this way, and that you listen to what I put here, that I am being heard, too. Thank you.

  11. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes. I turned to art to help me in the past and it has not failed me, and I know that I have gotten better at it because I practice, and that is because of a variety of things, not all good. Very interesting how that has worked out and I see you feel the same. Nothing goes in a straight line.

  12. Pingback: Small Landscape Project – Third Twenty-One | Claudia McGill and Her Art World

Leave a Reply

