Small Landscape Day 36

Claudia McGill says: When I was a very little girl, about four or five years old, I was swimming in the ocean and a tiny fish got tangled in my hair. I felt it struggling a bit when I surfaced. Somehow I knew just what had happened and it didn’t bother me at all – I just ducked back under the water and swished my hair vigorously and – the little fish got free and swam away. All this happened in less than a minute of my life, and yet I remember it more than fifty years later.

Small landscape, Day 36 - 7" x 5" on canvas board.

Small landscape, Day 36 – 7″ x 5″ on canvas board.

 Do you like this little painting? Would you like to have  it? Remember, it’s Giveaway Time. For the details about the landscape giveaway, look here. Then…

Email me at claudiamcgillart@gmail.com and mention Landscape Day 36 or use the form below.

All available landscapes are posted on the Giveaway Page the day after they are published, until they are gone.

 

15 thoughts on “Small Landscape Day 36

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. It’s funny how these little paintings are really sending me back in time, some of them, and I realize how many interesting and wonderful things have happened to me in my life, just everyday things, like this little incident.

  2. Laura (PA Pict)

    I too think there’s a potential poem lurking in that memory. You’ve also reminded me of swimming in a river in Aberdeen when a whole shoal of eels came rushing past. Feeling their smooth bodies swirling around me at such speed made me feel quite panicky for some reason.

  3. memadtwo

    It’s funny how things just set the mind off…I was thinking about all my various roommates the other day, most of whom have long disappeared from my life. What caused that? Well, I sent out good thoughts to them all anyway. Life keeps surprising us.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Funny you say that. I was counting up all the departments in the bank where I worked for 15 years in the 80’s and 90’s, and wondering what has happened to various people, many who must be dead or really really old now. I did the same thing with the good thoughts – mostly hoping for good health, at this stage of life! – and good memories.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    I wrote the idea down for the next Marathon. I don’t know if it will arrange itself that way, but it is such a wonderful memory for me. I wasn’t scared or disturbed – it just seemed entirely natural that a fish would be in my hair, and I would help it get free and we’d go back to what we were doing. I loved the ocean and swimming in it even at that young age.

    I think the eels could be part of an illustration. Just the mental image I had of a person in water and a flow of eels parting and then recombining to go around – wow!

  6. memadtwo

    I did google my first NYC roommate, Helga Rodriguez…you wouldn’t believe how many people there are with that name! I’m so sorry we lost touch with each other, but good memories, and of course the good thoughts sent into the universe. I do occasionally run into people from the past, though. The city can be strangely like a small town in that way.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    It seems, pick any name, and there are dozens, but that name is truly a standout, I would think! I agree with you about a big place really being pretty small – I do the same thing in Philadelphia and also, if you think of it, over a period of decades – I see the same people, or hear of them, over and over, and it’s not just living in the same place for a long time. They appear from elsewhere to stand in front of me. Interesting. Enjoyable, sometimes. Sometimes, I feel like running away from the encounter…

  8. Claudia McGill Post author

    I’m not good at recognizing people and quite often I will have a whole conversation with someone while desperately trying to figure out who they are. Sometimes I never do. I’ve been like this all my life. Makes for some interesting situations.

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    I remember this visit to the ocean so well, because it was all new to me, something almost like a magic place, even in a world that was very new to me, because I was so young.

Leave a Reply

