Paint Brochures and My Pen #1

Remember a little while back when I did some drawings on paint cards and brochures? I have quite a few more to show – they are addictive. And it’s a perfect art form for doing while sitting on your sofa watching TV (or in my case, the TV is talking away and I’m listening a bit and not looking at it at all). So I’ll show them in sections. Here’s one I sent to my son.

It’s a representation of the lovely building where so many interesting beings live – the Popular Oranges Apartments. Someone intriguing in every apartment…

"Popular Oranges Apartments"

“Popular Oranges Apartments”

18 thoughts on “Paint Brochures and My Pen #1

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I think I’ve seen them as windows since I was little – I remember collecting brochures and drawing houses around them since I was young, but didn’t think of it until after I did the earlier paint card thing (which I must again thank you, I think you are responsible for this whole trend in my mind!). I’ve always liked looking in windows…

    And about the paint names, try this, you can pick an object, and then describe it to yourself, the colors of it, I mean, doing just this, making up paint colors names – I have done it myself, it’s a nice way to pass time when you are waiting somewhere. Or, get a couple of friends to do it with you, that can get hilarious fast.

  2. Laura (PA Pict)

    I love the idea of those little colourful squares being windows in a building. What a great prompt for the imagination. I like the addition of the little figure and the cat in the photograph too.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I might have sent this already, can’t figure out, so I’ll try again. What I said was – once you get started on one of these, the whole brochure is fair game and one idea leads to another…and when I sent this card to my son, he was quite amused because at first he opened the envelope and couldn’t figure out why I was sending him a paint brochure when he lives in an apartment!

Leave a Reply

