Small Landscape Day 45

Claudia McGill says: Picture this – a hot summer day, and you and some friends are riding your bikes along a gravel road out in the country. You’re thirsty, so you stop at a house and ask the lady who answers the door if you can get a drink from her garden hose. Sure, she says, and you do and ride the rest of the way to where you’re going. Nice, right? Yes, and I know, because it happened to me, a long time ago.

Small landscape Day 45 - 7" x 5" on canvas board.

Small landscape Day 45 – 7″ x 5″ on canvas board.

Do you like this little painting? Would you like to have  it? Remember, it’s Giveaway Time. For the details about the landscape giveaway, look here. Then…

Email me at claudiamcgillart@gmail.com and mention Landscape Day 45 or use the form below.

All available landscapes are posted on the Giveaway Page until they are gone.

6 thoughts on “Small Landscape Day 45

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Well, I’m a lifelong hose-drinker and so far so good. Let the water run a bit and you are fine. No one in my childhood would have offered kids a glass or served them – you’d show them the hose. Of course in my childhood you’d never think twice about stopping at a stranger’s house for a drink in the first place, but out in the country, you had to help each other out. No convenience stores to stop at for a drink and we had no money anyway to buy it!

    I think maybe you should not think about your water pipes or the water mains or that kind of thing. !!! Sometimes it’s better just to – take something for granted, isn’t it?

  2. Laura (PA Pict)

    All water in Scotland comes from the mains and I have zero problem with that. I’ve also drink water from a mountain stream where further upstream we found a rotting sheep carcass in the stream. Still didn’t bother me. So I’ve no idea why the hose thing skeeves me out a bit.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I am laughing. Because I HATE drinking from a stream. Gives me the shivers. I remember in Girl Scouts where I refused to do it, envisioning protozoas or something.

  4. Laura (PA Pict)

    Ha! We all have our peculiarities I guess. I’m wondering if the openness and movement in the stream makes me feel more confident than I do with the claustrophobic stagnancy of a hose pipe.

Leave a Reply

