Please Check the Mailbox #1

I have a nicely-filled box of cardboard rectangles cut into postcard size, 4.25″ x 6″. So, when I’m painting, and I have some extra paint on the brush – I sometimes keep a pile of these ready to finish off that paint. Then, later on, I take these cards and see what I can do with them. I have a supply built up and you can see the way my mind goes from session to session in what I did to these cards. Here is an initial group, from about a month or so ago.

17 thoughts on “Please Check the Mailbox #1

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    I am especially drawn to that first one. It makes me think of a nest of eggs but in this case the eggs are words, hatching meaning. The figure with the yellow makes me think of watching fisherman hauling their catches ashore, wearing their rubberised yellow dungarees.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, it seems as if it needs a face or something, a focus, a dot, even, because that area in the circle part is sort of making me feel like I’m falling in, but I liked that, I think.

  3. Claudia McGill Post author

    I love this interpretation of the image. I’ve made shapes with words in them before, somehow I like the idea of words trapped or stored waiting to be released. I like “hatching meaning” a lot.

  4. Genie Geer

    Good Lord, my head is exploding! I’ve just been playing in my box of cardboard bits with leftover paint on them, to use in a dollmaking project. Impossible to toss any of it.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. And thank you for your good wishes! Everything is good here, if not a little crazy (snow today, tonight the temperature rises to the 60’s F, and then a couple of inches of rain? What is this?) But I’m doing great, thank you. I hope the same for you.

  6. Pingback: Ornamentation | lunanista

Leave a Reply

