Small Landscape Day 63

Claudia McGill says: When I was about 9 years old and a Girl Scout, we were making a simple dress for a sewing badge and somehow I got talked into making my dress match another girl’s, even down to the decoration on the pockets. I don’t know why I agreed in the first place, but we got close to the end of the project and then I rebelled, refusing to go along with the pocket detail. I am sure this really aggravated the other girl at that late stage of the game, but I clearly remember how pressed-in I felt as we went through step after step in the pattern – doing exactly the same thing. Interesting, this conflict between wanting to be accepted and then rejecting it. I have never forgotten it.

Small landscape, Day 63 - 6" x 6" on Masonite.

Small landscape, Day 63 – 6″ x 6″ on Masonite.

Do you like this little painting? Would you like to have  it? Remember, it’s Giveaway Time. For the details about the landscape giveaway, look here. Then…

Email me at claudiamcgillart@gmail.com and mention Landscape Day 63 or use the form below.

All available landscapes are posted on the Giveaway Page until they are gone. Take a look – if you see more than one you’d like, that’s great – I can figure out the postage for a group rate…

 

8 thoughts on “Small Landscape Day 63

  1. Laura (PA Pict)

    You know, when I first looked at your painting I was going to comment about how much I liked that the right hand line was refusing to conform to being a straight vertical like its left hand counterpart. Asymmetry appeals to me and I like non-conformity. Then I read your commentary and I see that your tendency is also towards non-conformity, preferring to be the square peg. That must be another reason we get along.

  2. Claudia McGill Post author

    I don’t know if it is so much preferring, as having to be the square peg, it seems! But I know what you mean. There was always a group and then there was me veering off in another direction. And I do like to meet and know people who do the same thing, I certainly agree very much with your last statement. Predictability and conformity are not me! In any way. Sometimes that has caused trouble, I will say it, but I am happy with how things are.

  3. Laura (PA Pict)

    Interesting thought. I’m a square peg because it’s just who I am but I also enjoy being different from the average. It’s a bit of a chicken and egg really though I think I’m just inherently a square peg. My ten year old is exactly the same. He will even love something until it becomes mainstream and then he loses interest because it’s not niche any more.

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    I agree. The square peg person can be born, or can become that way, but you can’t fake it, not all the time. I like being contrary, as I was often told in childhood, but you grow up and then you can be contrary all you want, if you are willing to take the consequences.

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes. it is, but if you can figure this out, you being your son, you have got a lot to work with in this world that others don’t, meaning, having an original viewpoint that you can also get across to others. But you do have to know when and how to choose your moments, I have learned…

Leave a Reply

