The Whole Thing – Small Landscape Project, 2016

Well, the whole thing is over – winter, and the Small Landscape Project. Although it’s not over – like a memory, you can revisit it on the Giveaway Page, and if you see something you like, even if it’s April, or May, or October – just ask. It is yours.

The project got me through the winter in such a nice way. I so enjoy being able to give something back to the world that is supporting me and my art in so many ways. I was touched and humbled by all the nice comments and by how many people seemed to follow the whole progress of the project, day after day. I had the pleasure of meeting new people through my art and in reconnecting with others. People took art pieces for themselves, for others; they let me pick for them, they picked pieces they said they just had to have. All of this really has made me feel cared for and supported. My art is a path to a certain kind of life, for me – it’s not all about the pieces I make but also the process of making them. So, thank you, everyone.

Here is the entire array of works in the Small Landscape Project. If you see one you like and it’s still available (check the Giveaway Page)  – well, you know what to do! Ask for it!

 

 

21 thoughts on “The Whole Thing – Small Landscape Project, 2016

  1. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I like the look of the whole group and I am actually getting ready to try a bigger landscape in this style, 24″ x 24″, and I wonder how that will go???

  2. Laura (PA Pict)

    It’s been lovely to follow this project and I’ve enjoyed contemplating my responses to each piece. I look forward to seeing how these translate into your bigger landscapes.

  3. Nancy Bell Scott

    The landscape of the day made my day many times, and without fail I always looked forward to it — a wonderful way to begin the day. Although I’m a happy owner of a number of them, I’ll miss starting the day this way. Great job, Claudia, thank you very, very much!

    On Mon, Mar 21, 2016 at 7:16 AM, Claudia McGill and Her Art World wrote:

    > Claudia McGill posted: “Well, the whole thing is over – winter, and the > Small Landscape Project. Although it’s not over – like a memory, you can > revisit it on the Giveaway Page, and if you see something you like, even if > it’s April, or May, or October – just ask. It is yours. ” >

  4. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I have enjoyed doing it and it also makes me feel good to see the paintings all in a group – kind of makes a visual summary of hours I’ve spent in an activity I really enjoy. Happy Spring and here we go on in the rest of the year!

  5. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you for all your thoughtful comments through the whole process – I looked forward to what you had to say and I got more out of my own work (!) by seeing it through your eyes. I really appreciated the time and attention you took. I wonder how bigger landscapes will work. Sometimes scale is difficult to translate, but – I feel I’m in more control of the process now so maybe…I am working on one right now, we will see!

  6. Claudia McGill Post author

    I do like seeing the whole array. Makes me feel proud (and I wonder how I managed to do so many, I did not think of it that way when I was doing them!) Thank you so much.

  7. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you, and I want to tell you your piece is framed and hanging on the wall in our guest bedroom, next to two pieces that were painted by a relative of my husband’s, back in about 1910 – both featuring the sea and seaside views – they seemed to all go together and make a little story. Thank you for your generosity and I appreciate so much your enjoyment!

  8. Sandra McCall

    Your paintings look soooo beautiful when hung together. I’m getting ready to finally display your pieces of art on my wall. Will send a photo when I get done, but it may take a while as I have to rearrange my whole display wall to highlight your art in it’s rightful place. 🙂

  9. Claudia McGill Post author

    Thank you. I feel the same way. A little lost without the routine of the project. It did the job for me (getting through winter and all that) and more. I appreciate what you said, you are very welcome!

  10. Claudia McGill Post author

    Yes, I thought so too. I did paint most of the group all in one block of time, so I was kind of in the same frame of mind for all of them, but still, I was kind of taken aback to see them all together, one big statement.

Leave a Reply

